Cooper test (aka12 min test)

Have you ever tried the Cooper test?

image

Yesterday I did my second Cooper test. I ran 2340 m (so close to the 6th lap!). Well, I am happy that it was much better than my first one (1960 m) but I wish I had reached the 2400 m.

image

Some background information: the cooper test was designed to access physical fitness and was designed by Kenneth H. Cooper in 1968 for US military use. One has to run as far as possible within 12 min. The results correlate with VO2 max (here you can find the formula: Cooper test – Wiki).

image

My result was “good” (in between “very good” and “average”), not bad huh?

2 thoughts on “Cooper test (aka12 min test)

  1. It’s interesting that in many European countries this is standard practice to determine fitness, whereas nobody in the US has ever heard of it. Great tool.

    Like

Leave a comment